Euthanasia, part 2 – my thoughts

When I heard the term euthanasia as a child, I thought it was “youth in Asia”.  I couldn’t understand why people were against youth in Asia.  I now know what the word is and I still don’t know why so many are so against it.

I recognize the dangers.

I value life.

I honor God’s value of life.

I think there needs to be many safeguards and checks to monitor this and I think it should only be available in the most extreme cases.

But!  I value quality of life.  I see the sufferings of people trapped in a physical body that won’t stop – often because our own medical system has prolonged it unnaturally.  I respect God’s value but also realize that He doesn’t always take people home based on our time table especially when medicine has prolonged it.

I witnessed my mom suffer for years with Parkinson’s Disease.  In the end, she existed as a vegetable.  She couldn’t talk, eat, respond, move or care for herself in anyway.  She had no life.  We had no relationship with her.  She breathed because others force fed her.  How many times did our family visit (sat by her bed) and said “if anyone treated a pet like this they would be arrested.”

I had a cat that stopped eating because of kidney failure.  Her condition wasn’t realized until she lost half of her weight.  I will never forget the look of the Veterinarian – I was a monster for not giving better care for a cat.  She was put down immediately, to end her suffering.

My favorite line from my previous post was this:  Such a change would not result in more people dying, but in fewer people suffering.”

My views on this will differ from those who agree with me on many other issues.  I may be convinced to change my view when pacemakers and defibrillators can be turned off; when nursing homes can stop force feedings, when medical science stops prolonging a life that would otherwise end.

I for one do not want to lie in a bed and suffer.  I do not want to lie in a bed and cause my family to suffer.  If I cannot live, please let me die.

Photo of Mom before she withered away in a long death.

Image

About Brian Fulmer

Brian is the owner of Crossroads Property Management Inc. (www.crossroadsproperty.com) He writes six blogs and has written two books. He also works with various missions around the world. His first love is Guatemala.
This entry was posted in Current Events and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Euthanasia, part 2 – my thoughts

  1. Pingback: Assisted Suicide | missiontomission

Leave a Reply

