Can you live off the grid?

“Well my phone is tapped and my lips are chapped from whispering through the fence,
You know every move I make, or is that just coincidence?”  These lines are from the song “The Great American Novel” written by Larry Norman prior to 1972 – 40 years ago.

Larry saw what was coming even though he couldn’t dream of the internet, satellites, cell phones, computers, etc.  Could we get off the grid even if we tried?  I’m beginning to think not.  Everything, and I mean everything, we do is being monitored, recorded, filmed and analyzed. Where we buy gas.  What groceries we buy.  Where we are at any given moment.

Over fifteen years ago I ordered software that was wrong.  When I called the company, they knew who I was and what I ordered before they said hello.  I gasped and said “how did you know that?  I didn’t even say hello yet.”  They informed me that they had caller id.  At that point I hadn’t heard of it.

Is it possible to live off the grid?  Can we lose the tracking?  It is getting harder everyday.  Google is buying up companies that will allow it to monitor more of our lives and they are working on next generation computers and robots.  All of our records are floating out there on the “cloud”.  They can’t be deleted or shredded.  Are we lining ourselves up for total control?  Are we like the Jews prior to WW2 that gave all of their information to the Nazis only to have it used against them?

An employee of mine was trying to find a house.  She drove around the block twice.  Both times she turned right on red (she didn’t see the no turn on red sign).  She was mailed two violation notices with pictures of her car turning right on red and her license number.   I had a landlord film his entire apartment building with cameras the size of pin holes.  None of the tenants knew the cameras were there.  How many times are you caught doing something and you don’t even know it?

Go ahead and try to live off the grid for a day.  I bet you can’t.

Image

About Brian Fulmer

Brian is the owner of Crossroads Property Management Inc. (www.crossroadsproperty.com) He writes six blogs and has written two books. He also works with various missions around the world. His first love is Guatemala.
This entry was posted in Current Events, USA, World and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

