I am offended again

The Trademark Trial and Appeal Board canceled six federal trademark registrations owned by the Washington NFL club today, ruling that the term “Redskins” was disparaging to “a substantial composite” of American Indians when the marks were granted between 1967 and 1990. The decision does not mean the Washington team must stop using the name.

http://www.usatoday.com/story/sports/nfl/redskins/2014/06/18/redskins-trademark-revoked-us-patent-office/10735053/

Who is offended this month?  Who will be offended next month?  What am I permitted to say?  Where is the new list of offensive terms?

Atlanta Braves? Cleveland Indians? Kansas City Chiefs?  I’m not a native American but I don’t think these names are mocking them.  I would be honored that they are remembered.

How about jokes?  I grew up with Pollock jokes – I’ll probably be sued for just typing the word here.  I am offended by the “F” word in every joke and every sentence of movies.  Is anything being done about that?  I am offended by sex on commercials and half time shows during the super bowl.

I don’t want to offend anyone.  But the list changes everyday.  I won’t even list the lists because that would be offensive.

But what if I am offended?  Will anyone step up to protect a white, middle aged, middle class, Christian man that owns a business?  I doubt it.

 

 

redskins

About Brian Fulmer

Brian is the owner of Crossroads Property Management Inc. (www.crossroadsproperty.com) He writes six blogs and has written two books. He also works with various missions around the world. His first love is Guatemala.
This entry was posted in News, USA and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

