Always about race, never about race

One of the first lessons that I learned when I began working in the inner city housing market was, “White’s interpretation of events: it’s never about race.  Black’s interpretation of events: it’s always about race.”  I keep that lesson on my mind in every issue that arises dealing with race.

I’m not a racial expert.  I admit that I see everything first through my white perspective.  I wish I could change my color to see how it feels.  I recently re-read “Black Like Me” and was horrified again at the behavior of people.

I like to challenge myself to view racial situations and try to understand what both sides are saying.  Here is today’s challenge:

Watch this video and weigh in on whether it is racist.  Maybe we will discuss it later.

http://www.vevo.com/watch/taylor-swift/shake-it-off/USCJY1431460

About Brian Fulmer

Brian is the owner of Crossroads Property Management Inc. (www.crossroadsproperty.com) He writes six blogs and has written two books. He also works with various missions around the world. His first love is Guatemala.
This entry was posted in Current Events, USA and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Always about race, never about race

  1. I am white – I did not detect anything I would consider racist in the video.

    “White’s interpretation of events: it’s never about race. Black’s interpretation of events: it’s always about race.” This has not been my experience. Rather, there is a huge group of blacks and whites both between these two extremes that say: let’s consider first the facts of what is happening and then decide what is going on. Unfortunately, the two extreme positions above get the most publicity. The situation in Ferguson, Mo., is a text book example. People are lining up on both sides and screaming about their side of the story – but absolutely no one has any idea what the story actually is. The politicians and the media love this stuff, but to me the aftermath of the shooting is idiocy at its worst.

Leave a Reply

