Bye bye Taylor

Taylor Swift doesn’t want to be on Spotify.  Boo hoo.  I listen to Spotify about ten hours a day.  I won’t miss her.  The beauty with streaming music is that listeners not only get to choose their favorite music but they can find NEW music that they’ve never heard before.

Personally, I have expanded my music tastes to Blue Grass, Blues, Jazz, Alternative to name a few.  I am now listening to bands that I never heard of before.  Why – because I could take a chance on them without spending a small fortune.  My main play list has over 5,000 songs.  That would cost over $6,000 on itunes and that much or more on CD’s.  And guess what, I wouldn’t have tried any of that music if I had to pay directly for it.

Remember when movie theaters were going to go out of business because of video stores.  A funny thing happened: all those video stores went out of business and the theaters didn’t.  We can’t stop technology.  We might not like it.  We need to bend every day.  Whether you are a photographer or advertiser or musician the game changes every day and it is very hard to keep up.

Ms. Swift won’t be hurt by not playing on Spotify.  I won’t buy her music.  I may have listened to one or two songs on Spotify but I’m not going to miss her.  I’m an old fart that is looking for other exciting music to listen to.

http://www.usatoday.com/story/life/music/2014/11/07/taylor-swifts-spotify-decision-drives-debate/18634219/

About Brian Fulmer

Brian is the owner of Crossroads Property Management Inc. (www.crossroadsproperty.com) He writes six blogs and has written two books. He also works with various missions around the world. His first love is Guatemala.
This entry was posted in Current Events, News and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

