Customer Service

Tale of two box stores:

I bought a Christmas ham at Walmart on December 21st to cook for Christmas day.   When I cut open the ham I realized it was bad and saw a “sell by” date of December 4!  Okay, Christmas dinner was ruined and we had to get Chinese takeout.   I didn’t have the receipt so I cut the tag with the date on it.  Who in their right mind would try to go to Walmart customer service the week after Christmas?!  It was $18 that I could wait for.  One thing lead to another and I didn’t get back to the store until the 1st week of February.  Okay, my bad – I waited a month and I didn’t have the receipt.  I really wasn’t expecting a refund but maybe something ?????  What I got was a lecture on waiting a month to return, not keeping the receipt and not being able to prove any of my story – except that I knew the ham was on special at $2.17 a pound and it cost $18 and I had the cover paper.  Not only did I get a lecture from the customer service rep but she then had her manager come out and lecture me as well.  I wished at that point that I still had the rotten ham that I could dump on their desk before walking out.  I informed them that I would never buy meat there again which I’m sure broke their hearts!

My next stop was at Lowe’s.  I needed to return a rented carpet shampooer that was now 10 hours late.  I went to customer service and did not wait in a line of 5 people like I just did at Walmart which made me happy right off the bat.  There were not 8 camera’s pointed at me and the area was open and pleasant – again a sharp contrast to my last stop.   The rep was very pleasant, asked if I had cleaned the machine and began her final billing.  She didn’t charge me for the extra day which I would have been happy to pay for.  She didn’t check the machine for cleaning but took my word for it.   I didn’t have the receipt for the cleaning deposit so she graciously offered me a gift card instead of cash.   The entire transaction took a couple minutes.  It was pleasant.  I didn’t feel like I was in jail asking for 5 minutes outside.  I was treated with respect and gratitude as a customer.  I didn’t have to tell her that my business buys a huge inventory there every year.  She had no idea if this was the only item I ever purchased there.

I walked out of the store very pleased and it made up for the miserable experience that I always experience at a Walmart.  I saved $25 on the machine and lost $18 on the ham.  Sometimes that’s the best you can do.  I go to Walmart when I have no other option.  Otherwise I avoid it like the plague.  I will avoid it even more now.  For a $10 gift card, they could have made a customer happy and avoided one more negative write up on social media.

Good job Lowes!

Walmart – well, I better watch my language.  I hope no one ruins my Christmas next year.

About Brian Fulmer

Brian is the owner of Crossroads Property Management Inc. (www.crossroadsproperty.com) He writes six blogs and has written two books. He also works with various missions around the world. His first love is Guatemala.
This entry was posted in Current Events and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

